You are here

Student Life Unit Awards

2017, UMD Chancellor Lendley C. Black approved a new staff awards program for the campus. The awards program was designed and recommended by the UMD Staff Senate. A committee of Student Life staff put together a plan for soliciting nominations for the Student Life Champ Awards.

The online form for nominations is found here. Paper forms are available in the Dining Services and UMD Stores break rooms as well as the front desk in 245 KPlz. Questions about the program should be directed to Toni Christensen, Director of the Student Life Office of Budgets and Personnel (, 218-726-7956).

Next nomination deadline:  TBA

Student Life Champ Awards Winners

December 2020

May 2020

Roze Brooks -  Diversity & InclusionSteve Abbott - Housing & Residence Life
Kathy Isola - Budgets & PersonnelKristi Dalbec - Transportation and Parking Services
Shauna Maurer - RSOPJessi Eaton - Kirby Student Center
Jodi Nelson - Budgets & PersonnelJulie Feiring - UMD Stores
Lisa Norr - Transportation and Parking ServicesJim Kolar - UMD Stores
Susan Rhoads - Health ServicesLori Kunkel - Health Services
Will Rhodes - UMD StoresJoel Sanderson - RSOP
Sam Speaker - Housing & Residence Life              Gayle Wabik - Dining Services

December 2019

August 2019

Mike Abrahamson - Transportation & Parking ServicesEmily Bora - Kirby Student Center
James Bridges - Dining SerivicesAnna Gilmore - Diversity & Inclusion
Emily Drevlow - Diversity & InclusionAlyssa Hammit - Dining Services
Shirley Kortekaas  - Budgets & PersonnelLinda Meek - Kirby Student Center
Tamara Kramer  - RSOPJoyce Miklausich -  UMD Stores
Robin Mensinger - Health ServicesErin Olson - Kirby Student Center
Gina Pudlick - Kirby Student CenterLesa Radtke - Kirby Student Center
Michele Tormondsen - UMD StoresEdward Wojtysiak - Transportation & Parking Services

December 2018

July 2018

Karen Bergh - UMD Stores Trista Anderson - RSOP
Sarah Debevec - Housing and Residence LifeWendi Christienson - UMD Stores
Jonna Korpi - SustainabilityMichelle Fonseca - Diversity & Inclusion
Jody Larson - Dining ServicesPam Merzwski - Career & Internship Services
Nikki Lyes - Dining ServicesBen Olson - Dining Services
Dawn Moran - Budgets & PersonnelLauretta Perry - Health Services
Mike Setran - Transportation & Parking ServicesShelly Schwarz - Dining Services
Ashley Singleton - Housing & Residence LifeKerrie Wittkop - Dining Services

December 2017

July 2017

Melissa Carlson - Housing and Residence LifeCindy Boben - Dining Services, Northern Shores Coffee Shop
Laura Haffield - Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student LifeTony Cherro - Transportation and Parking Services
Shannon Johnson - UMD StoresTerry Smalley - UMD Stores
Kevin Moris - UMD FarmLinda Spencer, Student Life Office of Budgets and Personnel
Sue Olson - Dining Services, CateringBen Thompson - Housing and Residence Life
Amy Perrelli - Print ServicesJackie Vavrosky - Health Services
Amanda Perrin - Housing and Residence LifeTim Walters - Disability Resources
Joyce Wegerson - Dining Services, Food CourtLaura Young - Kirby Student Center

Student Life Champ Awards Committee

Toni ChristensenBudgets and Personnel
Melissa CarlsonHousing & Residence Life
Matthew DuffyAlumni Relations
Mat GildermanKirby Student Center
Katie JacksonStudent Conduct & Conflict Resolution
Austin SommerfeldAlumni Relations
Cheng ThaoOffice of Diversity & Inclusion